AuthorMessage
spitz
|CC| Moderator
|CC| Moderator

Number of posts : 27
Registration date : 2008-03-10

PostSubject: The LIST   Sat Mar 15, 2008 10:31 pm

Hey im makin the first topic in computers! lol i feel honored

anyway i want some feedback from you guys on this. Its my wish list on newegg for my PC build im doing.

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/Wishlist/PublicWishDetail.asp?WishListNumber=7334472&WishListTitle=PC+build+2k8

I have the case, hard drive, and a power supply already > (will come from my current PC since i had to upgrade a year ago).

Thats the list for now, after its up and running i will go ahead and get a second graphics card. But that requires a better power supply (mines only 650 right now). So that makes it about a $400 upgrade instead of just another $180)

This is my first build from the ground up so i just wanna know if anyone sees any problems with it that i should know about. also if anyone has any suggestions for parts or anything
Back to top Go down
View user profile
bcross
|CC| Administrator
|CC| Administrator

Number of posts : 32

PostSubject: Re: The LIST   Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:43 pm

My 2 cents:

Get the Phenom 9500 instead of the 6400+ about a $16 increase in cost

I would get an 8800 series over the 9600 there are several that are sub 200 now...

what OS are you running? 4gb of memory needs a 64bit OS or it wont see/use over 3.25gb effectively - need to ensure the /pae switch is enabled either way

the hard drive only has an 8mb cache...there are ones with 16mb and 32mb for not much more...get one of those

the hard drive cooler is only necessary imo if you get a 10k 0r 15k rpm drive OR if you have multiple drives on top of one another
Back to top Go down
View user profile
spitz
|CC| Moderator
|CC| Moderator

PostSubject: Re: The LIST   Sun Mar 16, 2008 6:29 pm